Grosjean claims his third IndyCar pole in Barber qualifying

Romain Grosjean became IndyCar’s first repeat pole winner in 2023 with his third career pole, beating 2021 winner Alex Palou to the honour.

Grosjean was on pole at the Indy road course in 2021 and at St Petersburg earlier this year, the latter he was set to win before being wiped out by Scott McLaughlin.

ALSO READ:  How To Make Money Daily Using Your Mobile Phone Or Computer

He had missed much of the first practice session with an engine issue, but rebounded and was clearly the top Andretti car in qualifying.

He delivered two session-topping laps in the Fast Six to see off Palou by just 0.0734s.

Grosjean’s also the eighth different pole winner in a row at the Alabama track.

Pato O’Ward, last year’s winner, took third for Arrow McLaren, ahead of Penske’s top charger Scott McLaughlin.

Scott Dixon set the trend of grabbing banker laps on used soft tyres rather than used hards which is the IndyCar norm, and he managed fifth, ahead of Christian Lundgaard.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan has had a really tough start to the season, but Lundgaard gives the team hope at the venue he had his first IndyCar test and impressed the team at.

The top six was split by just 0.3205s.

Three-time race winner Josef Newgarden was pushed out of the Fast Six by his team-mate and YouTube series co-host Scott McLaughlin with the absolute last lap of Q2.

A clearly angry Newgarden regretted a different tyre warm-up procedure and missed out by 0.0617s.

Arrow McLaren’s Felix Rosenqvist took eighth with last year’s pole-sitter Rinus VeeKay going off at Turn 2 on his final lap condemning him to ninth. He admitted to ignoring a gentleman’s agreement for overtaking on the out-lap which likely upset Will Power.

Rosenqvist’s team-mate Alexander Rossi – not liking a change on his car for the last run – rounded out the top 10 ahead of Power, who went off at Turn 5 on his last flyer and lamented his engine performance.

Long Beach winner Kyle Kirkwood spun at Turn 1 on his out-lap of his last attempt with a “dumb” mistake that cost him part of the aero on his floor, which meant he was the last driver in Q2 in 12th.

It was a strong group of drivers missing out on graduating from the first two qualifying groups, the first of which was Ganassi’s championship leader Marcus Ericsson who will start 13th after being bumped out at the last possible second by Romain Grosjean.

Rookie Marcus Armstrong should have been just behind Ganassi team-mate Marcus Ericsson in 14th but lost his two fastest laps for holding up Lundgaard while on a warm-up lap. He’ll now start 25th in what is an extremely costly penalty.

Colton Herta starts 14th instead, struggling to extract the time of his team-mates.

Callum Ilott will start 15th as he looks to bounce back from a tough Long Beach at a track he qualified 11th on last year, which was his best qualifying in IndyCar to that point.

Qualifying Results

PosNameTeamCar Q1 Q2Q3
1Romain GrosjeanAndretti AutosportDallara DW12-Honda1m05.683s1m05.682s1m05.839s
2Alex PalouChip Ganassi RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m05.587s1m05.838s1m05.913s
3Patricio O’WardArrow McLaren SPDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m05.74s1m05.751s1m05.938s
4Scott McLaughlinTeam PenskeDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m05.747s1m05.806s1m05.951s
5Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m05.772s1m05.898s1m06.072s
6Christian LundgaardRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m05.834s1m05.866s1m06.16s
7Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m05.588s1m05.96s
8Felix RosenqvistArrow McLaren SPDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m05.869s1m06.093s
9Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter RacingDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m05.78s1m06.122s
10Alexander RossiArrow McLaren SPDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m05.693s1m06.209s
11Will PowerTeam PenskeDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m05.976s1m06.379s
12Kyle KirkwoodAndretti AutosportDallara DW12-Honda1m05.735s1m06.396s
13Marcus EricssonChip Ganassi RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m05.92s
14Colton HertaAndretti AutosportDallara DW12-Honda1m06.185s
15Callum IlottJuncos Hollinger RacingDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m06.064s
16Simon PagenaudMeyer Shank RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m06.243s
17David MalukasDale Coyne Racing/HMD MotorsportsDallara DW12-Honda1m06.185s
18Devlin DeFrancescoAndretti Steinbrenner AutosportDallara DW12-Honda1m06.441s
19Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m06.25s
20Conor DalyEd Carpenter RacingDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m06.481s
21Hélio CastronevesMeyer Shank RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m06.271s
22Agustín CanapinoJuncos Hollinger RacingDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m06.515s
23Sting Ray RobbDale Coyne RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m06.592s
24Jack HarveyRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m06.718s
25Benjamin PedersenAJ Foyt RacingDallara DW12-Chevrolet1m06.932s
26Marcus ArmstrongChip Ganassi RacingDallara DW12-Honda1m07.237s
27Santino FerrucciAJ Foyt RacingDallara DW12-Chevrolet3m49.146s

Thank you for your feedback!

What did you think of this story?


Spread the love

Similar Posts